And the music plays…

“Jealousy, turning saints into the sea
Swimming through sick lullabies
Choking on your alibis
But it’s just the price I pay
Destiny is calling me
Open up my eager eyes
Cause I’m Mr Brightside”

The Killers – Mr Brightside

His car, Wolfgang, chugged up the hill lining Richmond Park, and the song blasted while the sun shone through the windscreen, breaking up my jet lag. Two hours before, at 5am, I had walked out of Heathrow airport – Love Actually style – and with tentative kisses we began a journey through his childhood: his neighbourhood, his school, the park where he had his first kiss, the bike tracks he used to ride…

As life goes on I’m starting to learn more and more about responsibility
I realize everything I do is affecting the people around me
So I want to take this time out to apologize for things I have done
And things that have not occurred yet
And the things they don’t want to take responsibility for,”

Akon – Sorry, Blame it on Me

His hand on my knee, his legs propped up on his desk, me lying on his bed while he sits on the chair with its back pressing against the bed frame. Occasionally looking back at me, smiling, lip syncing and moving his arms slowly, grooving as the music burst through his speakers.

“It’s the hardest rule to follow (I’m thinking of you)
I really wish that I could call you (What can I do?)
You can find another me tomorrow,
And that’s the hardest pill to swallow, babe.”

Lil Dicky – Molly

The music drowned out the sound of the wind as our windows were down, speeding through the outskirts of London, Royal Holloway behind our tracks. The hydrangeas I had picked were still in my hand, and the adrenalin from sneaking past professors in the ancient University pumped through us as we burst into song. The spiral staircase had made us dizzy as we descended the stone building, through old art rooms, long corridors filled with statues, but now the only dizzying thing was the delirious happiness of that summer evening.

This ain’t the right time for you to fall in love with me
Baby I’m just being honest
And I know my lies could not make you believe
We’re running in circles that’s why

The Weeknd  ft Ed Sheeran – Dark Times

The song played over and over as I popped grapes into my mouth, my eyes gravitating to my phone, awaiting the screen’s light, waiting for his name to emerge. Snow fell and the wind roared outside my window, but despite being enamoured with the British cold, I could not drag myself from the room. Defining this moment was the sheer buzz of a budding relationship, founded on the soundtrack of deep and complex tones. And that’s what it was, at the end of the day: defined by the deep conversations we shared every night, and the haunting knowledge that this would never last xx

Leave a Reply

